Now that 19 EU countries are using the euro and a further four microstates are issuing euro coins, which will be the next country to do so?

Possibilities are:

Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Iceland, Poland, Romania, Sweden, United Kingdom.

My vote is for Croatia.

Views: 1644

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

What prevents Bulgaria from joining the ERM II earlier as they already have their lev pegged to the euro?

Daniel Filipe,

I think that Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria and Croatia will adopt the Euro once these countries meet the Maastricht criteria.


Currently, Bulgaria does not meet the criteria to join ERM II.  In January Bulgaria's finance minister Vladislav Goranov declared: "(We will be asking) when and against what, against what structural measures they will be ready to allow Bulgaria into ERM II," Goranov told reporters in Lithuania.

Here is an interesting article about Denmark's participation in the ERM II:


Find us on Facebook

© 2020   Created by Creator.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service